A start…

29 11 2009

My last post was full of excitement as I decided to start to learn to knit lace. I joined the Woodland Shawl KAL on Ravelry (my first KAL) and had visions of magically whipping up this wonderful shawl in no time at all, as others in the group seem to be able to do.

It has not been like that at all. I must have had about 10 abortive attempts to start this project, and each time I have not made it to even halfway through a repeat of the pattern before I have stuffed up a row somewhere and had to pull the whole thing out.  A couple of times I have changed and cast on a scarf instead of a shawl, thinking I might have been more successful with less stitches, but still I have mucked it up.

Anyway tonight I thought I’d try again. I hadn’t tackled it in a week or two, as I was getting incredibly frustrated with the whole thing. I cast on for a scarf width, and to my great surprise, I managed to make it through a whole 16 rows (one pattern repeat) without fluffing it! Lifelines went in every two rows, but I didn’t even need them!

Now to find some time to keep adding to it! Knitting a scarf takes me forever when it’s just knit and purl stitches, so with lace thrown into the mix, it could be Christmas next year before it’s done (and no, I’m not exagerrating)!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

