I want to make one of these!

28 07 2009

I have discovered a new ‘obsession.’ In the few posts I have on this blog, you will see that I have dabbled in just about every craft. I can’t find one that I can stick to – I love trying everything!

I can’t remember where I first saw anything about these, or why they popped into my head today, but I would love to try making a Temari. It’s a Japanese craft, and basically involves winding thread around a ball shape (either styrofoam or a handmade ball), then stitching a geometric pattern on to it. It appeals to my love of colour and my love of all things geometric and symmetrical.

Julie and Co. have a shop on Etsy that sells Temari, to give you an idea of what they are like.

Temari Kai seems to be the biggest resource of information on the net (in English anyway!). There’s lots of tips and tutorials, andplenty of patterns and galleries to ogle at!

See, how good do these look?

See, how good do these look?

Look at the detail... impressive.

Look at the detail... impressive.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

