My first wedding cake

22 07 2009

One of the many crafts I’ve been interested in has been cake decorating. At least with cake decorating I don’t leave a project half finished! After having done a year’s worth of community college courses, I was asked by one of my good friends to do their wedding cake.

It was an honour. But it was also terrifying! My ideas are always ‘big’ too! Bigger than my skillset, bigger than the time I have available, and bigger than my budget!

Her theme was purple and green, and she wanted a cupcake tower. She also liked the ‘vertical sausage rolls’ on the top cake. Other than that, I was pretty much able to do what I wanted!

7 full days of long evenings after work were spent making the cakes and decorating them, and that doesn’t include the 3 months of weekends spent making flowers and colouring them!

I was so happy with the finished product! I did have a rather nervous time at the wedding though, hoping that no one would knock over my rather precarious stand (baked bean tins covered in calico with cake board balanced on top), and that the 40 degree celsius heat wouldn’t melt the chocolate ganache under the fondant too much (it did, but only a little)!

Anyone for a cupcake?

Anyone for a cupcake?

RIMG0010RIMG0011RIMG0012RIMG0013RIMG0014

The top cake (those flowers took forever!)

The top cake (those flowers took forever!)

Voila! The finished thing!

Voila! The finished thing!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 07 2009
Crazy Cake Lady

That’s an awesome wedding display, especially for your first time šŸ™‚

23 07 2009
Ravenhill

How very beautiful! I am so impressed with your talents!
~Emily

Leave a Reply

