FO: Zig Zag Quilt Top!

27 03 2010

The unthinkable has happened.

I have finished something.

Something big!

I have been working on my zig-zag quilt top solidly now, most weekends, for the last 2 or 3 months. And I have finally finished the quilt top!

It’s huge! I don’t know why I do silly things like pick such a BIG quilt for my first ever attempt at both patchwork AND quilting! A nice lap size quilt would have been just fine….. but, no. I have to pick the biggest one ouot there!

As I have been working on this I started out loving the fabrics and the combinations…. then I fell out of love with them. They’re growing on me again but I’m still not sure how I feel about them. I’m hoping by the time it’s all done I’ll be passionate once more!

I went over the my parents place today since I literally do not have floor space big enough to lay it all out on to baste, nor do I have anywhere I could lay it to take a picture of the finished top. Even so, I couldn’t wind the clothesline up high enough to get a good snapshot of the bottom row of the quilt! You’ll just have to imagine it!

Oh, sorry, you wanted to see the finished top? Here ’tis…

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 03 2010
sandy

WOW it’s great. Thanks for sharing.

1 04 2010
Kathleen Brown

Once you finish the quilting you’ll be in love with it all over again. Nice work!

1 04 2010
Manna Member -Lynne

That is no small accomplishment! You did a great job, it is beautiful! How do you plan to quilt it? By hand or machine?

2 04 2010
Tea Rose Home

Great accomplishment! Isn’t it exciting to finish a quilt?
Thank you for sharing!

2 04 2010
Morgane

it looks great, it has to believe it is your first…. not a beginner project!
I hope you will keep making more…
it is quite addictive!
Good luck with the quilting!

3 04 2010
Whatever DeeDee Wants

Looks great!

4 04 2010
Autumn

That turned out beautiful!

19 04 2010
Helene Goldberg

I actually love those fabrics, they’re gorgeous! I had to giggle about the clothes line not being tall enough! I feel with you about the enormity of the quilt, and managing the basting and quilting. As you discovered, we’re in the same boat! Not sure that it helps either one of us at this point, but hopefully it’ll all work out well, and our quilts will get done, and we’ll love them again.
I’ll be thinking of you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

